Day 30 AIM: How can I address the election in class without swaying my students’ opinions?

Do Now: You’re a public school teacher, a servant of the city and indentured to the idea of free-thinking and liberty. But let’s be real, you’re about as impartial as Keith Olbermann when it comes to education policy and fiscal philosophy. Everyone has a slant to share in politics, it’s inevitable. So how, then, can we properly encourage our students to think critically about this election if our meddling biases get in the way? We recommend avoiding any “me”, “myself”, or “I” statements and try to instead turn the conversation back to them. Who do you support for president? Why? Why do you believe Barack Obama cares about black people? Is John McCain really in touch with Joe the plumber? Who the hell is Joe the plumber anyway? We recommend this strategy for two reasons: one, because it reveals how political discourse works in this nation, and two, because it focuses so much attention and scrutiny on them that they become indirectly oblivious to your own political biases (and that nice Obama-Biden button on your backpack).

3 Comments

Filed under Daily AIM

3 responses to “Day 30 AIM: How can I address the election in class without swaying my students’ opinions?

  1. ME!

    why wouldn’t you be upfront about your own political views?

  2. Lauren

    I completely understand this…I’m Obama all the way, but I plan to have a debate in my class around election time. My friends don’t understand why I don’t try to “mold these young impressionable minds”, but I KNOW I’m going to have to play devil’s advocate once debates roll around! I’m sure I’ll probably spill who I voted for once elections are over….and Obama wins. 🙂

  3. ME!

    I’ve had plenty of teachers who divulged their political views in class not to sway us in one direction or another but so that their students could recognize to take everything they said with a grain of salt. They recognized that even if they were trying to give us neutral information about the election that sometimes biases slip out and that we should go research other sources and make our own opinions.

Leave a Reply

