Day 129 AIM: Should I allow my students to eat in class?

Do Now: This is a mixed bag. On one hand, student performance is inherently tied in with blood-sugar levels. Early mornings can be as disastrous as story time with Stephen Hawking unless you get some bagels in your sleepy scholars’ mouths. Afternoon classes will be absolutely silent unless sandwiches manifest themselves. I have a rule in my class: students can eat as long as they work. This is where we must be cautious, for eating can be productive for a diligent student, but it can also be downright distracting to any lesser ones. Candy bars become noisy wrappers. Corn chips become speed bumps to the lecture flow. So implement your own food rule, but remember, food in the classroom is a contentious issue, for it all depends on how the cookie crumbles.

1 Comment

Filed under Daily AIM

One response to “Day 129 AIM: Should I allow my students to eat in class?

  1. My students can eat in my class as long as it’s healthy, which is broadly defined as including pop-tarts because our cafeteria sells them.

Leave a Reply

